HomeBiological Sciences › Faculty
frame image
frame image

Our Faculty and Staff


Directory


Aaron Weinberg, DMD, PhD, Chair 216.368.6729 aaron.weinberg@case.edu
Natarajan Bhaskaran, Research Associate 216.368.1241 natarajan.bhaskaran@case.edu
Sanghamitra Bhattacharyya, Research Associate 216.368.0739 sanghamitra.bhattacharyya@case.edu
Jennifer Calloway, Department Administrator 216.368.1525 jennifer.calloway@case.edu
Wei Cao, Research Assistant 216.368.4170 wei.cao@case.edu
Twishari Dasgupta, Research Associate 216.368.3791 twishari.dasgupta@case.edu
Betty Eapen, Lab Manager 216.368.1496 betty.eapen@case.edu
Zhimin Feng, Senior Instructor 216.368.1996 zhimin.feng@case.edu
Ilene Gertman, Project Coordinator 216.368.7573 ilene.gertman@case.edu
Santosh Ghosh, Instructor 216.368.6586 santosh.ghosh@case.edu
Edward Hill, Clinical Coordinator 216.368.3948 edward.hill@case.edu
Xun Jia, Research Associate 216.368.6561 xun.jia@case.edu
Ge Jin, Assistant Professor 216.368.3791 ge.jin@case.edu
Pushpa Pandiyan, Assistant Professor 216.368.2939 pushpa.pandiyan@cwru.edu
Patricia Mehosky Ribeiro, Dir. of Research Administration 216.368.1630 patricia.mehosky@case.edu
James Simmelink, Adj/Clin Assoc Professor 216.368.4252 james.simmelink@case.edu
Bernard Tandler, Visiting Faculty 216.368.0563 bernard.tandler@case.edu
Lance Vernon, Senior Instructor 216.368.0712 lance.vernon@case.edu
Tim Whittingham, Associate Professor 216.368.6753 tim.whittingham@case.edu
Wes Williams, Research Associate 216.368.8736 wesley.williams@case.edu
Shao Xiang, Research Assistant 216.368.4170 shao.xiang@case.edu
Fengchun Ye, Assistant Professor 216.368.0230 fengchun.ye@case.edu
Hong Yue, Sr. Research Associate    
YiFan Zhang, Research Assistant 216.368.1241 yifan.c.zhang@case.edu


Meet the Faculty


Dr. Aaron Weinberg

Dr. Aaron Weinberg

Dr. Weinberg is Professor and Chair of the Department of Biological Sciences and Associate Dean for Research. He received a DMD and PhD from Hebrew University School of Medicine. In 1999, he joined the School of Dental Medicine at Case Western Reserve University. Throughout his research career, he has combined his clinical background with molecular and cellular biological approaches to research the interface between the microbe and the host's innate defenses. Dr. Weinberg holds secondary appointments in Pathology and the Proteomics and Bioinformatics Core in the Medical School. In 2010, he was appointed the Associate Dean for Research in the School of Dental Medicine.


Dr. Zhimin Feng

Dr. Zhimin Feng

Dr. Feng is a Senior Instructor in the Department of Biological Sciences. He earned his PhD in Cell Biology from the Institute of Zoology at the Chinese Academy of Sciences in Beijing, China. He also has an MS in Medical Biochemistry and a BS in Biochemistry. Dr. Feng's research area is epithelial innate immunity. He is working on the regulation and function of human beta-defensins (hBDs), structure/function analysis of hBD-3 and CXCR4 interactions, as well as epithelial innate immune responses to microbial challenges.


Dr. Ge Jin

Dr. Pushpa Pandiyan

Dr. Pandiyan is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences. She earned a PhD in Immunology at the German Arthritis Research Center, Humboldt University, Berlin Germany and an MSc in Life Sciences (Microbiology) from Bharathidasan University, India. Her research investigates the mechanisms by which unwanted immune responses are regulated, focusing on how regulatory T cells (Tregs) and cytokine networks control inflammatory cells in different disease settings.


Dr. Lance Vernon

Dr. Lance Vernon

Dr. Vernon is a Senior Instructor in the Department of Biological Sciences. He earned his DMD and MPH from the University of Pittsburgh School of Public Health. Dr. Vernon has an interest in public health, art, poetry, yoga, swimming, cooking, and collecting aesthetic beach stones. Prior to entering dentistry, Dr. Vernon coordinated clinical drug studies in schizophrenia at the Brecksville VAMC, taught learning disabled students at the Ratner School, and coached swimming. Dr. Vernon performs clinical epidemiological research and investigates the link between oral and systemic health. Specifically, he is examining the link between periodontal (gum) disease and cardiovascular disease in HIV-infected adults. This involves seeing patients in the dental clinic, coordinating logistics, managing data, and writing papers and grants. In addition, Dr. Vernon is interested in prevention of oral disease (dental caries and periodontal disease) by coaching targeted oral hygiene behavior changes.


Dr. Fengchun Ye

Dr. Fengchun Ye

Dr. Ye is Assistant Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences. He earned his MS and PhD in Molecular Microbiology from the University of Bordeaux II in Bordeaux, France, and a BS in Horticulture from Huazhong Agricultural University in Wuhan, China. His research area is pathogenesis of oncogenic viruses such as Kaposi sarcoma-associated herpesvirus (KSHV) and Epstein-Barr virus (EBV). I am currently working on how periodontal bacteria enhance viral replication in the oral cavity to promote oral cancer in HIV/AIDS patients. He also works on how KSHV infection promotes angiogenesis, inflammation, and tumor growth.


CWRU School of Dental Medicine     2124 Cornell Road     Cleveland, OH 44106-4905     216.368.3200